Blow KL

John Blow’s works now seem to by identified by KL numbers. What is this the abbreviation of? My Grove’s is too old to know.

Thanks.

Well, for what it’s worth, I have a subscription to Grove Music Online, which is totally up to the minute. The long article on Blow lists all the works, with nary a mention of any catalogue numbers.

Where are you seeing KL numbers?

Le 02/06/2021 12:16, Andrew Bernard via The Jackrail écrit :

Well, for what it’s worth, I have a subscription to Grove Music Online, which is totally up to the minute. The long article on Blow lists all the works, with nary a mention of any catalogue numbers.

Where are you seeing KL numbers?
Mostly on recordings:

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=john+blow+kl

Intriguing. Grove Music has always been rather quirky.

I suspect that this is an abbreviation for Robert Klakowich who edited the Musica Britannica volume devoted to John Blow’s harpsichord music.

Best,
Matthew

Le 02/06/2021 14:46, Matthew Daillie via The Jackrail écrit :

I suspect that this is an abbreviation for Robert Klakowich who edited the Musica Britannica volume devoted to John Blow’s harpsichord music.

Thanks, Matthew. Quite possible.

The page for this volume gives a rather strange “Contents” for this
volume, where some pieces have numbers, and others don’t:

Yes, the 1998 Klakovitch ed. might just have missed being integrated in the 2001 Grove edition. I don’t know exactly how the online version is updated but I seem to remember that the editors are (or were) receptive to ongoing suggestions.

If you look at the pdf of contents, it gives a list of all the works by Blow and the various Stainer & Bell editions. For example, the first Saraband in G Major appears both in the MB volume 73 (Complete Harpsichord Works) and their publication Blow, John: Twenty-Five Harpsichord Pieces (also edited by Robert Klakowich) which has the reference K44. I think that the KL numbers refer to the order of pieces in MB73.