Bridge pins of harpsichords

My background is in mathematics and physics, so this article holds some interest for me. While it may be very technical, the key points are fascinating, especially as regards the vertical and horizontal motion of the string, and the pin bridge distance effect. While the first aspect is well known, not many people have looked into the latter experimentally.

https://www.johnsankey.ca/string.html

This post was inspired by the current topic on spinet buzz.

Hi Andrew,
Thanks allot for this article!
This is a subject that has always been of great interest to me.
Tom

Interesting! I am also a mathematician, but my scarce knowledge of physics makes it difficult for me to follow the formulae. What is interesting is this conclusion:

“The monocord sound with no pin and the close pin are almost indistinguishable, both being full with a distinct pop at the beginning. The pin-bridge separation of 0.25 cm still sounds full, but has a more even decay of sound than the first two. At 0.70 cm separation, the sound is very close to that at 0.25 cm but slightly more nasal, …”

Good to know about these experimental results!

My Hubbard double has a pin-bridge separation of about 0.2 cm throughout, so I am fine in this respect.

[I am not surprised that up to 0.7 the sound is still good: bearing in mind the angle around the pin, it is obvious that the string moves vertically, and the distance from the bridge is only important if it is so large that it can audibly vibrate separately.]

Active research in piano technology using ultra-high speed videos produces a slow motion video in which you can see the individual higher partials reflecting of the bridge pin and (due to inharmonicity) racing ahead of the main impulse like porpoises riding the bow wave of a ship.
It is also possible to see a tiny wiggle of the string behind the bridge pin as the impulse is reflected.