Engraving - lest we forget our origins

For all of us spoiled with Finale, Sibelius, Dorico, Lilypond and Musescore, let us not forget where we came from!

1 Like

Thanks Andrew- I also liked this because I studied in WĆ¼rzburg in the 1980s.
Michael

The ease with which he works is breathtaking. What an amazing use of a human life, to develop this skill.

Really excellent, Andrew. Thanks for sharing

Iā€™m certainly not ā€œspoiled with Finale, Sibelius, Dorico, Lilypond and Musescoreā€, in fact I donā€™t use any of these. And I certainly admire the skill & dedication of the engraver @ But Andrew broaches, perhaps unwittingly, the question of what engraving is or might be good for in these times. I wonder whether anybody has ever made a cost comparison or a quality comparison of: - engraving - vs. Finale {or whatever program youā€™re fluent in} - vs. hiring a good copyist & telling him/her how you want the copy to appear, then correcting the copy as required & scanning & publishing it via IMSPL or jackrail or whatever. If I look at the JSB manuscript that the engraver was working with, I see that itā€™s very clear & legible - if you excuse the outlandish clefs :wink: And it looks really quite elegant. But Iā€™m sure there are many copyists now alive who could produce something equally clear & legible & elegant. A whole lot of music has been ā€˜publishedā€™ this way, lots of it for a single performance of course; but thenā€¦ Iā€™m interested to read what those who have far more experience than I do, have to say.

Greetings,
Dale

The engraver in the video says at 21:00-21:22 (in German) that it would take him 400-500 days to engrave a 500-page work by Haydn, whereas electronic note-setting is considerably fasterā€¦ he has made the switch to electronic engraving.

Beautiful as the engraving process looks, the consistent reference to lead (Bleiplatten) makes me wonder whether he was relieved not to be working with lead shavings any more.