Just after some advice moving forward

Hi
A little background. I started learning keyboard last April then transitioned to a virginals around August. I had a teacher for 2 x 30min lessons per month for a few months, but there was a few issues I had with this set-up, it was mainly concerning time slots due to how far away I was. Unfortunately I’ve had to cancel the lessons, and I’m now back to Frank Mento’s Beginner Harpsichord book along with a beginner piano. I’m not sure what to do next.

1. I was thinking of ringing a local pianist, and explaining I only have a virginals, but would like to progress with the workload relevant to both piano and early keyboard; theory, rhythm, coordination, etc, while putting stuff like articulation to one side until I can find a harpsichordist teacher in the future. I could buy them a copy of Mento’s book 1 too if a teacher is open to the idea.

2. Find a harpsichordist that does online lessons. The only issue is I’m not very techy. I’m wondering if I’ll need something more than my phone to do a live video lesson. I could join Skype and register it on my phone if a phone would suffice.

Any advice is appreciated. I’m plodding along whatever, however I do need to find a permanent solution for a teacher as it’s been 8 months of playing now. There’s no harpsichordist teacher in my county it seems.

Ta,
Mick

I have no idea how to help with your remote learning problems, but I feel compelled to say this. Do you want to learn harpsichord or piano? The problem with learning piano with the aim of playing harpsichord is that you learn with mind and muscle a vast set of completely wrong habits and techniques which become VERY hard to eradicate. I know this happens to many people. I still have traces of piano lessons left over from 50 years ago, even now.