Sitar-like sound

Hello all. I’m wondering if anyone can provide insight into a problem my instrument has been developing. A few of the strings have developed a sitar-like twang to them within the last year. It even seems to be slowly spreading to neighboring strings. For example, middle c# and d# have developed the twang while the c, d, and e around them sound normal. This is a bentside spinet I designed and built based loosely on the Goujon spinet in the ( as i recall) Musée de musique, Paris. I’ve been playing it for about five years now. I tried changing string gauges, checking for loose pins, string tail issues, and voicing of plectra. The only thing I have not tried that I can think of so far is the plucking position. My tongues are pretty much smack in the middle of the Jack body. Beech jacks with Holly tongues, boar bristle and wild turkey plectra (dirth of Ravens about). It’s here and a couple more strings above this part of the compass, the strings being pretty close to the breaking point, so the tension should be pretty optimal and the strings around them have good clean tone. If anyone has encountered this phenomenon before and has advice, I would very much appreciate it.

James Young

Hi James, Although I’m not a fine connaisseur of sitars, might I suggest you check your bridge and nut profiles? If the strings have slowly sunk ever so slightly into the bridge or nut under the horizontal pressure they exercise, they may be touching the wood now and not coming off the pin for vibration. How far is the crown of the bridge or nut from the pin/string contact point?

Since your plucking point is rather ‘inwards’ the magnitude of oscillation might be enough to cause a buzz.

Sitar sound depends on sympathetic strings, so perhaps your dampers on resonating octaves or 5ths/4ths/2nds have slipped a little?

Hope this helps! Now to get my Ravi Shankar cassettes out from behind the VHS player!

Thomas

04870 St Michel l’Observatoire

(33) 04 92 76 60 81