Strange sign in J. Jones Lessons for Harpsichord

I’ve been looking at the facsimiles of John Jones’s Lessons for the Harpsichord (London, 1761 ‎and 1765). There are a few instances of an unusual symbol. It looks like the guidons I am ‎familiar with from French publications, a zigzag kind of like a modern trill sign (underlined in ‎yellow in the attachments) but is obviously not used in the same way as the guidons. At first I ‎thought it might be a space-saving device to prevent stems on low notes from running into the ‎system below, but on closer inspection I find instances of two and three leger lines in the bass, ‎printed as normal. The signs always seem to refer to an octave below the regular note printed ‎above. Does anyone know what’s up with these?‎

guidons2

guidons1

1 Like

Hello David,

I am no expert in facsimiles. With that being said, I would rely on intuition. My intuition says to double the given notation an octave lower. I am interested in what others on this forum have to say. I look forward to learning.

Regards,
Oscar

Oscar, I agree with you that it probably means play the note an octave lower. But that begs the question of why, in a few situations, Jones (or his engraver) used a sign rather than just printing the note in the usual way. Hopefully someone will know.

1 Like

Hi David & Oscar,-

Is it often found in the context of violistical arpeggios, like in the example you give? Then it might be a suggestion to break the chord, and/or that playing the lower octave is optional. And/or it might indicate that playing the lower octave is optional in the entire following musical phrase (depending on the compass of the instrument you are playing). If it resembles a guidon/custos, as you say, then the last explanation might be the better one.

Michael

1 Like

Mitzi Meyerson should know. She recorded the Lessons (Glossa GCD 921808).

1 Like