A new tuner app

So I can see from our present discussions about ET’s that there is nothing at the moment that matches the excellent tuners of the past. Thinking on it, I have 40 years software development experience, although nil in Android or iOS apps. I am about to take the idea raised that one of us should build an app seriously. I am prepared to learn this area.

Now, we all build on the work of others. The DSP and so on is hard. But I found an open source app that I can use as a springboard for development and learning:

So, let us build a set of user requirements and use cases with input from all who are interested here. Submissions welcomed. Obviously for our community having temperaments other than ET is crucial, and a fluent way to input your own. I’d make it keyboard chromatic oriented at first, and leave the 400 or so instruments that tuners like Airyware support for much later.

With Peterson neutered by patent expiration, I may even consider doing a strobe. Ha!

People can paste their requirements and wishlists in this topic. And a Freddo Frog for whoever can come up with a good name.

1 Like

Great!
But please do think about maintainability, updating etc. A one-person operation could be shortlived as one loses interest in maintaining and updating. Maybe a open-source app could benefit from other programmers contribution. That’s up to you, however. I go on with my list.

• Strobe and/or waterfall.
  • tone generator
  • pitch user-definable
  • temperaments (of course)
  • temperaments transposable
  • temperaments editable

“Jack tuner”. I wait for my Freddo frog. :slight_smile:

One of the fundamental problems – I see it as a fatal flaw – with electronic tuners is that they help users to set single pitches (=tuning), whereas what would really be helpful is an app that enables tuners to check intervals (=temperament). This would presumably need to mean, in practice, setting pitches first and then checking resultant intervals.