Boar Bristle

Having quite a run with you on the legalities of bird-quills recently, I now ask, with great trepidation, if anyone has found a source of boar bristle.
I have a few left in my parts boxes-those I probably deemed not worthy- and would like to replenish my supply. Zuckermann provides these at about $2 US each–but there are a lot of keys in a harpsichord.

Does anyone know of a source short of pulling apart coarse paint brushes?

Cheers
Fritz

Mason and Pearson hair brushes used to be boar bristle, size just right for harpsichord jacks. I do not know if they still are.

Well well well. I looked at Mason and Pearson. The brushes are exactly as they always have been - I used to have one as a child. But take a look at the price and then have an Aspirin and a lie down.

A search for ‘boar bristle brushes’ on Aliexpress results in thousands of hits. As to quality or suitability, I have no idea.

Any good? I have no experience of this.

Le 16/04/2024 09:00, Andrew Bernard via The Jackrail écrit :

A search for ‘boar bristle brushes’ on Aliexpress results in thousands
of hits. As to quality or suitability, I have no idea.

It is much easier to use bristles that haven’t been cut yet, because you
need extra length to work with.

Here you can get 30g for 28€. No idea how suitable they’d be. I just
weighed some of mine, and 1g is about 50 bristles. So that’s about 0.02€
per bristle.

https://www.etsy.com/fr/listing/962829473/poils-de-sanglier-30-grammes-60-grammes?click_key=21026f9c777fec302de71ff6f9ea661081f55d4b%3A962829473&click_sum=3a58e101&ref=sold_out-1

I have, and still have a good quantity I purchased many years ago from Vogel. They are good. You still have to select them for the right thickness, but they are very usable.

Yes Andrew. I checked out Mason—jeeze—so if I use one of their brushes will I look twice as good as I do now (badly needed).