Harpsichord regulation

In relation to the introduction by user @Mark I thought I would start a topic on regulation. Here people can post links and information, and of course questions. I expect this may develop into a very rich topic.

Here’s a useful page:

http://tituscrijnen.com/Titus_Crijnen_harpsichords/Checking_the_instrument.html

And let us not forget Carey Beebe’s excellent technical resource library:

[A fellow Aussie.]

1 Like

Hello, I am a ZHI kit builder very nearly done; but have been fearful of the voicing/regulating step. Is it likely, as an amateur, that I can get a quality result? Are there traveling “voicers” ? If so, what would an appropriate honorarium would be charged?
Also, any input from other kit builders out there?
Thank you.

Hello John and Welcome!

If you have the skill top build a whole harpsichord you can voice it. There are some videos on the subject. Carey Beebe on the forum here has very helpful videos on such topics.

As to travelling technicians, that would depend on where you are located. And of course a complete voicing from scratch is likely to be fairly expensive.

There are a hundred hints I could give but prime is, get a very sharp blade. Some people use scalpels. We use Stanley blades, not sure what they are called in America. Second is, don’t cut yourself.

This sort, for example:

https://www.bunnings.com.au/craftright-80-piece-knife-blade-set_p5760123

You’ll want a 100 pack - you will go through a lot. They have to be very sharp. There are dozens of cheap brands. Surprisingly they are all not too bad in terms of sharpness.

You did not mention delrin or quill. It’s two different approaches.

For regulation you will need to learn about staggering and be careful to get it really good.

You may find this small paper useful:

http://tituscrijnen.com/Titus_Crijnen_harpsichords/Voicing.html

Are you actually in Vegas? If so, you could contact Jonathan Rhodes Lee at the University there.
https://jonathanrhodeslee.com

Anne